Sign in to follow this  

I need some suggestions for my snail-slow collision detection

This topic is 4354 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a beginner. I just wrote a class to do 2D collision detections. It worked, but was too slow. Could you please give me some suggestion to improve it? Thank you! My idea is: 1,Every sprite have a list of bounding circles. When checking two sprites, I first check the outermost circle which contains the whole sprite. Then if the outermost circles collide, I iterate the rest circles, each of which accuratly contains one part of the sprite. 2,I devide the whole map into 64X64 grids. Each grid has a list of sprite pointers. In the game loop, I move sprites, calculate the grids covered by the outermost bounding circle, and then add the pointer to these grids. The grids' indices are stored in sprite objects. It only needs 4 numbers: the left-bottom grid's and the right-top grid's indices (an (x,y) pair). 3,So when I need to check whether a sprite is hitting something, I just go through the grids coverd by the sprite, and, with each grid, go through the sprite list it holds. the code looks like: ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- clear_the_list_of_all_grids(); for(iterator i=sprite_list.begin();i!=sprite_list.end();++i) { i->move(time); calculate_the_grids_it_covered(i); } for(iterator i=sprite_list.begin();i!=sprite_list.end();++i) { go_through_the_grids_it_covered(i, &list_of_result); for(iterator j=list_of_result.begin();j!=list_of_result.end();++j) { do_something(j); } } ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- It only can reach about 70FPS when handling 50 sprites though it works correctly Is it a feasible idea? If it's bad, why? Is there any way to improve it? I'm not a native English speaker. I hope you c