Sign in to follow this  

*sigh* it's time to start doing instead of talking, but first a question

This topic is 4355 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

a quick one, i've tried a few C++ ide/compiler combos, and i didn't like them, i like the VS.NET IDE. but i got a question, can i use the VC++ express 2005 IDE without using anything to do with .NET?

i see "empty project" in the new project list. i'm assuming i do that

then all i do after that is not add any references(i'm new to C++, i remember having to add references to the .NET namespaces in C#) to any of the .NET namespaces(namespaces right?)

Right. If you don't specify anything using .NET, you'll be using standard C++ (assuming you chose an empty C++ project, anyway)

It's actually a bit unfortunate that they chose to name it "Visual Studio .NET", because this is a common confusion, people thinking that there is a such thing as "Visual Studio NOT-.NET", which in all actuality Visual Studio .NET is Visual Studio 2003-2006.

if your coming out of C# into C++, C++/C doesnt use refrences they use libs, and linkers etc. a windows project would link a bunch of .lib files. instead of a windows project in C# would reference System.Windows.Forms.dll

managed C++ is microsofts attempt to make C++ a bit like C#, so just used unmanaged and its real C++ not microsofts ignorant attempt to change it. managed is still C++ but the functions an d classes are changed etc...

i reccomend this to get you started.

cool, thanks for the info, i'll check that site out too.

now i need a list of reading material, just got C++ Primer Plus 4th ed. i'm working on getting C++ How to Program (i liked the deitel C# book), C++ The Complete Reference 3rd ed, and Beginning C++ Game Programming. any others i should get?