Sign in to follow this  

[Newbie-DevC++] Help! Why need glut32.dll if I use static lib?

This topic is 4351 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi! I'm starting to study C++ mainly to learn openGL, so I'm a newbie in both cases :-) I use DevC++. I've found and compiled succefully various openGL examples. Before build the application, I link the project with static libs, like, in example, libglut32.a. The executables running fine, but if I try them on a system without glut32.dll, they don't start. I'm a bit confused about libraries: if I use static libs, all code should be included in final executable, right? ...so if I use libglut32.a, why is needed glut32.dll? I assume I'm compiling using static libs, because if I don't add the libglut.a to project, the compiler return a link error. Besides I don't see, in DevC++, an option like "compile using dynamic libs" and goggling, I've found an article that explain that, to use dynamic libs, it's needed a special code, like: HMODULE LoadLibrary(LPCSTR lpFileName); FARPROC GetProcAddress(HMODULE hModule, LPCSTR lpProcName); BOOL FreeLibrary(HMODULE hModule); etc... And lines like these are not in files I'm compiling... Please, help a poor newbie!!! thx, Zyx

I'm not very familiar with DevC++ (I Use MSVisualStudio), but those *.a libs may be only the export libraries for the dll's. In VC++, if i want to use a dll statically (meaning i don't load it dynamically durring execution, but at the start of the application), I have to include some *.lib files (which are the same as static libs) in order the application to build. But they are not static libs, you still need the dlls, they are just some kind of interface between your app and the dlls. Just make sure the dlls that are reported missing are in one of your directories you've set in the IDE as executable directories.