Yet another MMORPG idea

Started by
19 comments, last by Wixner 18 years, 2 months ago
First of all: This is not a "how-do-i-create-a-mmorpg" topic so holster your flamethrower. Second of all: I am no MMORPG expert - in fact, the only MMORGP I've played seriously so far is World of Warcraft. Until today, every MMORPG game has had the exactly same basic design: slaying monsters in the world is a very cheap way to gain new equipment and items. As in this World of Warcraft comic: http://www.worldofwar.net/comics/heroesofwow/chapter8/index.php, some monsters even got a very powerful weapon. This fact popped two questions in my head: why didn't the monster use that item in it's fight against you and how did the monster aquire such an item? In my opinion, there are two possible ways for the monster to aquire those items: State of the Art (tm) AI or human interaction. My idea here is human interaction, but you have to wait for the update because I have to go to work now. I'll update the thread as soon as I can.
Advertisement
Sooo.... you want a human(GM?) to place items on monsters? You know monsters in MMORPGs are randomly spawned. I don't want to be that guy who place those items on monsters.

Quote:
why didn't the monster use that item in it's fight against you

It's hard to use a sword when you have no hands.

[qoute]
how did the monster aquire such an item?

Well, maby the mosnter ate a warrior, and it didn't digested it's sword yet. To make this more realistic, each item found inside a monster will be damaged, and have to be repaired.

"But rabbits can't eat warriors!!!"
RPG rabbits can.
-----------------------------------------Everyboddy need someboddy!
Well.. It's a little bit more complicated than that :)

The short description is that some player will actually control the monsters in the world: instead of a lvl60 paladin, you have evolved from a lvl1 slime to a lvl60 golden dragon or something like that :)
Quote:Original post by Wixner