• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

StreamTokenizer

This topic is 4382 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

(java) I am trying to parse a String and have my method react differently to various characters it encounters throughout the parsing. I implement a StreamTokenizer, which I have very little experience with, to get the job done. My problem is that, when I detect a particular character (say '$'), I want to be able to stop parsing momentarily and iterate the string (both forward and back) while looking for other characters. Here is my original code:
String str = "weji383 jiejd $ dsiwjd iwej d4";
StreamTokenizer st = new StreamTokenizer(new StreamReader(str));
st.parseNumbers();
int token = st.nextToken();

while(token != st.TT_EOF)
{
    if(token == st.TT_NUMBER)
        // Do something
    else if(token == st.TT_WORD)
        // Do something else
    else
    {
        switch(token)
        {
            case '*':
                // Do something
                break;
            case '$':
                // Here is where I want to iterate backwards towards the
                // first character in the string ('w'), and then forwards
                // towards the last character ('4').
                break;
            default:
                break;
        }
    }

token = st.nextToken();
}

My first thought was to nest an inner-switch inside the main switch. Then, by having a temporary variable, I could manipulate that var's position within the tokenizer, leaving the 'token' variable untouched:
// Local variable
int tempToken = token;

// Inside the main switch
case '$':
    while(tempToken != st.TT_EOF)
    {
        tempToken = st.nextToken(); // Iterate forward towards last character
        switch(tempToken)
        {
            case '4':
                // Do something
                break;