• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
digital_wolf

Aspirations of a Technical Artist

This topic is 4592 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've posted in the beginner forum with no real help... so I'm going to try here....aside from what's written in the FAQ. I'm looking for professional recomendations. I am a tech-artist currently working on “next-generation” consoles. It is becoming more and more apparent to me the necessity of being able to write your own DirectX Shaders. In my quest to attain this knowledge I’ve become somewhat overwhelmed with all the different types of books and websites out there and am unsure of exactly where to begin. I’m looking for some advice on where to start and some recommendations on materials. This is what I know so far in regards to what I need to learn. Math: Any good books that will explain and teach the principles required to learn, understand and write your own Shaders and Effects (Algebra, Vectors, Matrices etc.) I am approaching from a High-school math level with knowledge of Algebra, Geometry and Physics… although most of that knowledge has disappeared in the past 6 years. Programming Structures: I believe I understand the basic logic (Variables, if, else, loops, arrays etc) however I’m looking for materials that will explain to me the syntax and structure of HLSL that is comprehendible to a non-programmer. I currently own the “SHADERS: For Programmers and ARTIST” book by Sebastian St-Laurent. It’s good however I find it doesn’t explain to me certain things such as What does these actually mean/do: struct VS_INPUT float4 Position : POSITION0; struct VS_OUTPUT VS_OUTPUT vs_main( VS_INPUT Input ) All input and direction is greatly appreciated. I don’t want to become a Hack-Job … I’m looking to really understand and comprehend all of this. I’m hoping someone here is able to point me in