• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nihonlvr

[.net] Visual Basic .NET vs C#

This topic is 4555 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am pretty new to programming and know C/C++ and am currently learning Java. I have a friend who is interested in learning how to program games. He is currently learning Visual Basic in college. I was wondering if the speed of all .NET languages are the same. I am considering learning Visual Basic .NET in order to do a small project with him. Would Visual Basic have the speed enough to complete a MMORPG...j/k, a simple RPG? Any help would be great.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by nihonlvr
Would Visual Basic have the speed enough to complete a MMORPG...j/k, a simple RPG?

Yes.

Quote:
I was wondering if the speed of all .NET languages are the same.
C# and VB.NET are compiled into the same thing, so yes. It all comes down to personal choice.

Guest Anonymous Poster
I found that IL code, which .NET compilers create, is not optimal. It needs to do some optimization. And the speed of .Net applications is not so good with compare of unmanaged code i think.

Quote:
Original post by Rob Loach
Quote:
I was wondering if the speed of all .NET languages are the same.
C# and VB.NET are compiled into the same thing, so yes. It all comes down to personal choice.

You know, I hear that a lot, and it doesn't really make any sense. C and VB4 also compiled to the same thing. I don't think anyone maintained any illusions. That said, VB.NET and C# have comparable ideologies and features, and the compn fact, in the original version of VS7, VB.NET was somewhat slower than C# because the C# compiler did a better job. Now that they have matured, the differences should be negligible. On the top of my head:

- C# is less verbose than VB.
- VB's intellisense is somewhat better.