• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Abbadon

agents good or bad idea?

This topic is 4560 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm trying to hook up with a publisher to pay for the last 4 months of dev time plus pay for the third party engine. I have had offers but I want a better deal, plus I need to hook up with the bigger publishers, so to the crunch agents are they good or bad, are they worth it, can they help, do we need them, your thoughts please.

Advertisement
I have no great experience with agents and I'm not entirely sure what you mean by them. Assuming they are just middlemen between the developer and publisher, I would say it would depend on their experience on getting developers hooked up with publishers, what sort of payment they expect in return and how long the process would take.

If you have had offers then at least that's a start but, I think you would be hard pressed (even with an agent) to get any sort of funding up-front from the bigger publishers to pay for remaining development and a 3rd-party engine, particulary from an unknown developer.

In short, only you can decide whether it would be worth it or not and how bad you want your game out there - good luck!.

I think you would be hard pressed (even with an agent) to get any sort of funding up-front from the bigger publishers to pay for remaining development and a 3rd-party engine,particulary from an unknown developer

what is an unknown developer, I assume it means one without shipped titles, am I wrong, but is it an unknown if individually the team members have worked on major AAA titles and proven experience then coming together into a new studio, it takes years to get a AAA title to completion so i would so not so new.