Sign in to follow this  

Non blocking sockets in a strategy game?

This topic is 4378 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm new in programming with sockets. I develop a Strategy Game ( remake of Settlers 2 ) and it should be work over network too. It should be also platform-independent and so I wanted to use SDLNet. But I think it's too inflexible, because it doesn't support non-blocking sockets and the recv function wait until the full requested length is sent. For example the server expect of the client 20 Bytes and the client send only 10 Bytes and not more, so the server wait, wait and wait... So the client is able to stop the whole server, that's very dangerous, especially for the master server ( there runs the lobby ). I could use many threads, but I hate them and so I often have to kill the threads. So I decided to use Winsock. Now my first question: It's a good idea to avoid threads ( except the main thread of course [rolleyes] ) in such a game? I prefer handle all in the main loop and I think it's possible if I use non-blocking sockets? And my second: In Strategy games I send only small packets ( BTW I use TCP ). Can I count on it that I get the whole message when I receive it? If I expect a message, so I can test whether the required length (for the message) was received. And if not, I can kick the client, because he probably sent bullshit and wanted to "eliminate" my server. [rolleyes] I hope you understand all, my English is not so good. [rolleyes]

Quote:
Original post by Carrier
So I decided to use Winsock. Now my first question: It's a good idea to avoid threads

For networking, I'd say yes. Blocking sockets aren't really suited for games.
For other areas of your game, using multiple threads *might* be worth it. If you know what you're doing, and you want to take advantage of dualcore cpu's.

Quote: