• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Takaloy

How impossible is a 3d M-G? for a single programmer

This topic is 4653 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, I'm currently in my 2nd year of my degree and I am flattering myself to go with a implementation type final year project. I think a 3D game will the best way to go, as some suggested that doing anything 3D these days will never hurt you. There is alot of breath and almost too much depth in a game, where you have treading, openGL, collision detections, tree structures etc.. to improve my amateur skills and will be a good project to stick it on my CV. And I thought it'd be cool to design something that works across the network, not nessesary internet but a simple LAN-game-type-thing. It'd do good for my CV, by adding networking aspect of my project on it. or rather something that would give me a great chance of getting a spot in the research scholarships (for masters) in UK. Do you guys think it's possible to do all of this in 1 year's uni term?

Advertisement
im on my 2nd year n thinking about making a game for my final project as well. Its a simple 3d turn-base strategy Advance wars type of game. I already have a outline design of the game done. But I am not sure if multiplayer would b too ambious, consider i will have to pass other modules as well :S

Quote:
Original post by superpig
A networked 3D shooter or something? Sure, perfectly doable in a year.

aye, or probably something RPGish (concept's the same, something with a 3D, have interactive characters, etc..).

For a final year uni project you might find it better to have a more focused goal than just a '3d game'.

- Lecturers are usually very focused, and won't really comprehend the sheer volume of work that it takes to do a full game and all it's subcomponents