• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
GCoda

[java] porting from ME MIDP 2.0 to SE ?

This topic is 4682 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am new in java development and I just made my first MIDP applet that has couple of forms and custom Canvas which draws an image using a png file as resource. So nothing fancy or too complicated in that but my question is, what if I want to port my mobile game to PC (using java SE instead ME and MIDP, I assume) ? What 2D drawing classes are most close to MIDP 2.0 in SE? And what do you think of this solution for writing asbtract classes to ease the porting:

// not a complete example, just the basic idea

public class GameScreen
{
}

final class MobileGameCanvas extends Canvas, GameScreen {
 Image mImage; // Image would be used for images
 protected void paint(Graphics graph)
 {
 }
}

final class PCGameCanvas extends GameScreen {

}

Thank you, all tips are appreciated.

Advertisement
Hey, wait dude. First things first!

If you intend to run mobile games in your pc, you must do so through emulators. The task of building code that is immediately portable between SE and ME is inviable. The reasons are obvious: different devices!

Java SE, Java EE and Java ME are different things. While Java EE sits on top of the basic Java SE API, the microedition is a complete different thing; it has its own JVM (KVM, in fact), it has its own set of APIs - yet it is possible to interact and communicate with the other layers, but not in the way you're imagining it - and it has restricted computational resources to expend.

In a few words, you either write a game for a PC, or for a mobile. The same bytecode won't work in both devices, unless you're using an emulator, but that's not what mentioned nor what you're trying to suggest with your post, I believe - or did I misunderstood you?