• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DadleFish

Summing up quaternion issues

This topic is 4654 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm studying the topic of quaternions and I wanted to sum up some issues. I'd be glad if you approve or correct me if I'm wrong, thanks: 1. Basically we'll want to represent quaternions when we want to represent rotations, as they are convenient for interpolating rotations, and they can be contatenated faster than matrix concatenations (16 vs. 27 multiply-add operations); 2. When we want to represent a rotation of angle theta around an axis represented by a vector matrix A, we need the following values in the quaternion:
q = <w,x,y,z>
w = cos(theta/2)
x = sin(theta/2) * Ax
y = sin(theta/2) * Ay
z = sin(theta/2) * Az
3. When we have a given quaternion we can transform it into a rotation matrix using the following formulas:
M11 = 1 - 2y^2 - 2z^2
M21 = 2xy + 2wz
M31 = 2xz - 2wy
M12 = 2xy - 2wz
M22 = 1 - 2x^2 - 2z^2
M32 = 2yz + 2wx
M13 = 2xz + 2wy
M23 = 2yz - 2wx
M33 = 1 - 2x^2 -2y^2
4. Basically, suppose I store all my relative transformations (between an object and its container for example) as a quaternion for rotations and a vector for translations, I would need to follow the following in order to create a model-view transform matrix for an object -
Translation_vec=<0,0,0>
Rotation_quat=<1,1,1,1> {??? is this correct as a starting value? }
For each container starting from the world and finishing at the object, DO:
   Translation_vec += current container translation_vec
   Rotation_quat *= current container rotation_quat
End loop
Final transform matrix = 
Rotation_quat turned matrix | translation_vec
---------------------------------------------
              0             |        1