• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Themis

Arkanoid paddle maths

This topic is 4654 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm trying to create an arkanoid clone and I've almost everything up and running. However I just can't get the bouncing of balls on the paddle right. When hitting bricks of the screen's boarders life is easy but when hitting the paddle. What is the basic concept behind it? I'm trying the following; when collision with paddle is detected I compute the x-coordinate of distance between ball's center and the paddle's center. Then I have a constant array of degrees and I do the following
static float degs[] = { 
	-85, -84, -83, -82, -81,
	-80, -79, -77, -75, -73,
	-71, -69, -67, -65, -73,
	-60, -57, -54, -51, -48,
	-45, -42, -39, -36, -33,
	-30, -27, -24, -21, -18,
	-15, -12, -9, -6, -3,
	3, 6, 9, 12, 15,
	18, 21, 24, 27, 30,
	33, 36, 39, 42, 45,
	48, 51, 54, 57, 60,
	63, 65, 67, 69, 71,
	73, 75, 77, 79, 80,
	81, 82, 83, 84, 85,
};
float rad = degs[18 + (int)dist] * 0.01745;
vec = Vector( -4*sin(rad), -4*cos(rad) );
The vector computed is the velocity vector of the ball, while dist holds the ball/paddle distance mentioned above. The velocity vector is computed by taking vector (0,-4) and applying linear transformation for rotation applying the following matrix: | cos(x) -sin(x) | | 0 | | 4*sin(x) | | sin(x) cos(x) | X |-4 | = |-4*cos(x) | However things don't work as intended and balls follow their own crazy patterns :(. Any idea for a better algorithm? I'm really stuck with this and I can't understand if its my algorithm or floating point computational flaws.

Advertisement
Just to clarify: you're having difficulties bouncing the ball off the paddle correctly?

If I make the simplifying assumptions that both the ball and the paddle are approximated by rectangles, then the following comes to mind: