• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mokkan

OpenGL OpenGL Tilemap Questions

This topic is 4590 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well, I'm pretty new at OpenGL, but I've sort of gotten the basics down, I would say :). I'm trying to write an tilemap engine using SDL and OpenGL, but I'm having a few problems... I was hoping someone here might be able to help. Firstly, are there any easy ways to implement a 'camera' (/viewport?) of sorts? I know OpenGL doesn't really have a camera... but that gluLookAt works like one. I can't seem to get gluLookAt to work with glOrtho... but I think that perhaps it's not supposed to work. Anyways, does anybody have any ideas on this? Second, how do I go about rendering the tilemap? I understand the whole textured quads thing, but I'm kind of confused on how much is safe to render. What I mean is, what if I have a very big tilemap to render? Something like... 500 by 500 tiles. Do I render it only chunks at a time? Or render the whole thing and use the camera/viewport thingy? And this tile engine sort of works using a different tilemap per area... it's not just one big map for the whole world ;P. And I think that's kind of it :). Hopefully I'm not being too n00bie here... and that I explained well enough. Thanks! :)

Advertisement
Map the screen space into your virtual world space, and only render tiles from the world that intersect with the screen.

A camera in ortho mode is most easily implemented by just using glTranslatef().

Okay, now after some thinking, I completely understand on how to make a camera now :).

I'm still trying to figure out how to go about rendering, though... I understand the concept, but I'm just not sure how to go about it, really :\. Well, perhaps after some more thinking I'll get it...