Sign in to follow this  

Need guidance

This topic is 4320 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone Im crazy about isometric games and I want to build them. The thing is that Im not good at DirectX and furthermore I only know Visual Basic 6. Ive created some 2D terrain models that can generate uneven land and the algorithms that detect the mouse movement/click on them. But my major problem right now is the algorithm to determine which tiles to show on screen (visibility testing) Anyways Ive gone through a LOT of threads on many website and I think if I get a book about it, it would make things more easy and understandable. So.. Im looking for a begginer's book on 2D isometric games (Ive heard a lot about TANSTAAFL) I was thinking of starting from DirectX 8 because Ive already done quite a few experimentation with it. And I only know Visual Basic 6 (not .NET). Is there any such good book? Ok ok I am willing to switch over to C/C++ just for isometric games, but Im not ready for .NET yet. Please recommend me some good book keeping above things in mind, and also tell me where to get it from. Thank you very much!

Articles and Resources:
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/list.asp?categoryid=44

Recommended Books:
http://www.gamedev.net/columns/books/books.asp?CategoryID=11

You can find this information by looking in the menu under names like 'Articles' or 'Books'.