Sign in to follow this  

Sine and Cosine - How to apply and understand it. Erm, heightmaps too. :-)

This topic is 4338 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

...I might seem to be a total idiot in OpenGL programming not being to even undertsand Sine and Cosine and how to apply it....because I am a noob, the sad truth. Can some one help? I mean, how does it make things rotate? That bewilders me. So how about it? Can I get a tutorial or an example? Nothing complecated like saphisticated mathematical formulas and theories, okay?A tutorial would be helpful though. #2. Heightmaps, how the heck do they work? @_@ Why use a greyscale? This all confuses me and makes me wonder why they are even needed in a landscape program. Thank yu all, and while your at it, check my sig to completely process my compacities with being a total newb in OpenGL.

Quote:
Original post by Axesor
#2.
Heightmaps, how the heck do they work? @_@
Why use a greyscale?

This all confuses me and makes me wonder why they are even needed in a landscape program.

First a heightmap gives the height in a landscape.
Imagine a even grid with coordinates spread evenly along the x and z axis, a heightmap determines the position of the y axis of those coordinates.

You don't have to use a grayscale map, but it's better, because it takes up only a third of the memory required, and you could more easily use 16 bit rather than the standard of 8 bit.
it is possible to add displacement on the other axis also, but it's not advisable on the first try.

Regarding sine and cosine, they arn't directly used to rotate things, they are however used to create a rotation matrix, thats linear algebra (or matrix math) and it's a bit hard to explain.
so try these links.
http://www.math.miami.edu/~ec/book/
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article877.asp