basic copy proection

Started by
34 comments, last by DaBookshah 18 years, 1 month ago
I have a game im getting ready to sell, this is my first attempt to sell a game. I've read up on a number of software protection schemes and they all seem to be crackable. So i've decided i may as well see if i can just do something basic to deter any n00bs. So this is what i've thought of: 1) write my own vector interrupt for int 3 to stop debuggers. i dont know how to do interrupts in windows or if this will even work, if any one has any suggestions/links to articles 2) for online play, send the users key to the server, if the key s valid, the client recives a list of servers. This fails when the user joins by ip. This also fails with LAN and single player. I could force the user to be online to play (ala battlefield 2, and you buy online anyway) but then hackers can just bypass the online check. 3) one idea i had was to send the clients cpuid to a server, the server will then encrypt it and send it back to the client, this will then verify the player when they play offline (ie. you have to be online to install the game only). This should stop random copying of my game, but the hackers could probably just remove the code that checks the key is valid... plus i dont like the idea of cpu locking... any other ideas ? currently im just thinking 1 and 2, but it would be nice to stop simply copy for those people that play offline
Advertisement
1) everything can be cracked, the only thing you can hope for is deterring the less determined crackers.
2) the commercial solutions are written by experts. If they cannot make something watertight, don't even try to do it yourself.
3) what to do when a pirated version sends a valid key (not unheard of, key generators are common and a lot of people will give out their keys to friends and friends' friends etc. etc.)?