[java] Newbie question about addElement

Started by
29 comments, last by jwenting 18 years, 1 month ago
Hi. I am a C++ programmer who started to program Java recently. I am using Netbean and it really looks cool to me. I placed a textarea, a button and Jlist. Now I want to do something really simple. I want to add the text in text area to Jlist. I did this but does work: String a1; a1 = jTextField1.getText(); jList1.addElement(a1); for some reason compiler doesnt know addElement. Error is :

init:
deps-jar:
Compiling 1 source file to /home/raha/JavaApplication1/build/classes
/home/raha/JavaApplication1/src/javaapplication1/NewJFrame.java:202: cannot find symbol
symbol  : method addElement(java.lang.String)
jList1.addElement(a1);
1 error
BUILD FAILED (total time: 0 seconds)

by the way I am using linux :) any idea why this is happening ? Thanks
OpenGl + C++
Advertisement
The function .add() is how java does things. For more info on what all the other java objects' member functions are, see here:

http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/docs/api/
you should also install the Sun JDK instead of relying on gcj.
gcj is extremely old and incomplete.

JList btw doesn't have any method to add data at runtime directly.
You either initialise it with an array of Vector for a static list or a ListModel for dynamic data (in which case you will need to derive a ListModel type yourself or use one of the predefined ones like DefaultListModel in order to add and remove data at runtime).

The latter is the preferred way of working in non-trivial applications, as the ListModel can also be used to do custom rendering of output and helps separate the user interface from the data.

See the API documentation for full details on these classes.
Thank you.
I want to add data in runtime.

Instead of Jlist what component would you recommend? Thanks
OpenGl + C++