Sign in to follow this  
StratBoy61

Simple Quaternion question ?

Hey, In order to implement a Steering Behavior demop in 3D, I started coding a very simple 3D object composed of : - 1 arrow - 1 sphere - 1 point The Steering Behavior implementation wants the point to be moving on the phere, and the sphere to *always* be in front of the arrow. So far, I could only render my arrow correctly, always facing its velocity, thanks to this previous post. Now, I am struggling in order to correctly display the sphere. Here is what I did so far:
D3DXMatrixIdentity(&matWorld);
D3DXMatrixIdentity(&matRotation);
D3DXMatrixTranslation(&matWorld, vArrowPosition.x, vArrowPosition.y, vArrowPosition.z);

D3DXQUATERNION qR;
D3DXQuaternionRotationMatrix(&qR, &matArrowRotation);
//D3DXQuaternionRotationYawPitchRoll(&qR, ?, ?, ?);
D3DXVECTOR3 MyVector = D3DXVECTOR3(fDistanceFromArrow, 0.0f, 0.0f);
D3DXMatrixAffineTransformation(&matRotation, 1.0f, &MyVector, &qR, NULL);
D3DXMatrixMultiply(&matWorld, &matRotation, &matWorld);

m_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matWorld);

Note that in a previous demo, I used the D3DXQuaternionRotationYawPitchRoll function instead of D3DXQuaternionRotationMatrix, and everything worked fine ; the previous demo was in 2D though. It looks that D3DXQuaternionRotationMatrix does not work too well for what I want to do. However, I have not found a way to use D3DXQuaternionRotationYawPitchRoll here, because I do not have the Yaw, Picth and Roll components of my matArrowRotation D3DXMATRIX (what is replaced by the '?' in the source code). Any suggestions ? Thank you in advance. Cheers StratBoy61

You could avoid to do the matrix->quaternion->matrix conversion if you drop the use of D3DXMatrixAffineTransformation.

The invocation of that routine does no translation but a rotation center correction. It is (if I have not made an error; please check it) equivalent to

D3DXMatrixTranslation(&matWorld, vArrowPosition.x, vArrowPosition.y, vArrowPosition.z);