• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Twinsen2

Unity Final Year Project Debate.

This topic is 4547 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello gamedev community. Currently i am in final year at uni studying games programing, and our team has struck a debate that i though would be prudent to post on the forums and get advice from the real world to help deligate this matter. OK, we are basically given 13 weeks to come up with a game demo, this demo will be used to get us a job in the industry, now the problem is that 1 of our team members would like to use a pre-existing game engine that teachers at our uni have developed, now this is all well and good but myself and another team member want to create our own game engine using different components and intergrate them all together to help us understand how engines are made and how they work 2gether. Currently this project isnt due for another 6 months ("Roughly") and so far we have started writing the engine and have made somre real progress. Now the question i would like to ask someone is that how much of a difference would it be to write on ur resume that you wrote a fully featured game engine using real components used in the industry and make a game out of it, as oposed to using a pre built game engine made from the lectures at my uni. Here is the progress so far of our engine: 3D Engine: Ogre Sound: OpenAl (70% done) Phsyics: Newton ( done but needs refinment ) file system XML ( mostly done but also needs refinment) Now our group is well ahead of schedule as we arnt meant 2 be makn the game until last trimester, but because we are writing the engine we have started now. I would just like to ask that what people think about creating your own engine as opsoed to the one provided and what kind of impact would this yeild from protential employers.

Advertisement