2D collision - "jumping"

Started by
3 comments, last by leiavoia 18 years, 1 month ago
hi! i do have question about one thing. i'm trying to do 2D collision with sprites. i'm using the simplest way to do it - collision of 2 rectangles... it's works fine... the problem comes when i'm trying to put some dynamics into my program. let's say the object1 has speed 10. an object2 has width 2...object1 is going onto object2... in most cases the collision won't be detected because object1 simply "jumps over" object2... i have a few ideas how to solve it but i want to hear some advice from experienced people...so i'm not going to reinvent the bad wheel... thx
Advertisement
I use a system that predicts collisions instead of detecting them. Since I predict the time of collision mathematically, no misses can occur.

Other ways may involve using swept areas/volumes or multisampling (reducing the time step in artificial ways).
I'm no expert, but I have thought on the matter.

Here's an image that shows what I've thought about with regards to 2d collision detection algorithms.

Basically you keep testing until all collision lines and objects do not intersect with any other objects or collision lines.

It is important to step based on the time rather than the position of the start of intersection. Update position in response to updating time and keep time moving at a percent of the fastest object.
_______________________"You're using a screwdriver to nail some glue to a ming vase. " -ToohrVyk
Quote:Original post by M2tM
I'm no expert, but I have thought on the matter.

Here's an image that shows what I've thought about with regards to 2d collision detection algorithms.

Basically you keep testing until all collision lines and objects do not intersect with any other objects or collision lines.