Sign in to follow this  
ibiza420

How many threads for a game?

ibiza420    122
Hi all, I am fairly new at developing games (for fun), but not at programming. I am attempting to make a simple demo in C# for a game I may (or may never) code in DirectX one day. For now, I am only using GDI+ to toy around with functionalities such as timing, objects managment, etc. My question is : how many threads a game really needs? I mean by that, that if a game has a single thread, used to generate game objects and to animate the scene as well, what will happen if there is a big lag? My guess is that not only the graphics will lag, but also the object creation engine, which may skip a few objects (enemies, gun shots, etc.) to create (probably resulting in an easier gameplay as not all objects that should be there aren't?). So is there a need to have 2 threads? One for object creation, which should be as fast and accurate as possible, and another one for animation, whose running speed depends on the framerate wanted? Thanks for helping me! ibiza

Rebooted    612
Lagging won't cause objects to not be created, just for them to be created in a longer space of time. The frames per second will decrease, but those frames will be the same.

You shouldn't need to use any threading at all. It is only important to people creating next generation games and technology that will take advantage of multi core CPUs. It can also be used to simpilfy code in some cases, but generally you should avoid threading and all the headaches that come with it unless you need to. C# is not a good language for concurrent programming.

ibiza420    122
Hi, thanks for your reply!

Well, a program is a thread, that's what I meant with a single thread...no thread at all if you prefer.