Sign in to follow this  
Multiverse

midlet not launching in emulator

Multiverse    151
Hi there guys, I'm hoping somebody may have an answer for me here, I'm quite new to mobile development, so excuse any mistakes! I'm using Eclipse, J2ME polish, WTK2.2, and Ant to build my game's .jar and .jad files for multiple handsets. I have a J3D implementation and a 2D implementation of my game which I am hoping to build from the same source using Polish's handy preprocessor directives. I've got it all set up, and when I do a build and run within Eclipse, the midlet runs the 3D implementation with no problems (like it should do). When I try an Ant build it spews out the jars and jads (Generic/midp1, Generic/midp2, Generic/multi) with no errors. The problem is, when i try to execute one of the .jad files created with the Ant build, the emulator pops up, shows the name of my game and the 'launch' option (set to the right soft key.), but nothing happens when I press 'launch'. It just seems to hang there since it doesn't quit the emulator, it just stays on that screen. This happens with all three of the builds created (midp1, midp2, multi). Has anyone come across this before? Obviously I'm doing something wrong. Does it sound like a setup problem? Or maybe I've made a mistake with the preprocessor directives (I've done that before)? Anything that points me in the right direction would be great!

Thygrrr    418
Does the path to jad & jar contain any spaces, umlauts or other non-alphanumeric characters? Is it on a network share or network volume?

This caused us a lot of strange problems with some emulators.

Multiverse    151
hmmm, actually they do contain non alphanumeric characters. I'll just do a quick test to see if that sorts it out...

No that hasn't fixed it :(