what would you recommend?

Started by
12 comments, last by Kylotan 18 years ago
hi! i have always been very facinating by the music and sound-effects of games. Tho i am a musician ( guitar, piano ) i have no idea, how to start composing my music on the computer. Nor do i have a clue what program(s) to use, i've seen the stickyd list, but i don't know which program is good, which is not. So i'd like to ask: What tracker/sequencer/program do you recommend to start with, when you have no knowledge of composing "with" the computer, but with the knowledge of music itself etc. I am willing to spend money ( ~€200 ) on equipment and programs. but i see it as a waste to buy something from that amount of money without any knowledge whatsoever. Another thing i was wondering: is it mandatory to have a keyboard with midi input or something? or does it make it easyer, or doesn't it. If not how do you get you music files so far i have read you need to do this with samples and trackers (again i have seen the sites/links but which of those samples are "mandatory"?) i understand these are kinda "noob" questions. please answer them seriously... you have to start somewhere. Thanks in advance Tsabo
Advertisement
I don't know a whole lot about music; but, I have friends that do. [smile]
One of them told me about a free tracker called ModPlug. It looks decent. With it, you can create and reuse patterns of notes, as well as lots of other stuff.
If you get ModPlug Tracker I'd recommend that you get the latest release candidate of Open MPT to use with it since it supports the use of MIDI maps better than the original. That way you don't have to find a lot of samples until you really need the quality.

Trackers are almost always cheaper than MIDI-based programs and the latest Open ModPlug Tracker supports some primative MIDI importing capabilities as well.