Sign in to follow this  
chadsxe

Picking a 3D engine to do an assignment with...(I am not asking for homework answer)

So I just started my next term at school and I was given a project that I have to have completed in 5 weeks. I basically have to pick a 3D engine of my liking and demonstrate it's functionality. We were ecouraged to not use the Torque engine because this is what we will be working with for a lot of other assingment. So basically it's a "go learn something on your own type of thing". Which of course leads me hear. Keeping in mind this is my first time ever diving into a 3D engine what one would you suggest. I am guessing something with good documentation. I know there are few popular ones out that but I am still a little lost... Ogre 3D is one that I see coming up a lot... This is an overview that was given to me. Have students download, compile, and modify a 3D game engine. First, research the internet and/or library resources for information on Game Engines that are currently used in the video game industry. Then, the student will pick a 3D engine that can be used to satisfy the requirements of the assignment. The 3D engine should provide: 1. Source code so that the student can compile and modify the engine. 2. Enough documentation to describe key components and provide enough detail that the student can build, run, and demonstrate the engine. 3. Enough documentation so that the student can easily modify the functionality of the engine. Once a 3D engine is chosen, the student will download, compile, and demonstrate the engine in class. The student will discuss and show any key features or functionality presented in the engine demonstration. Finally, the student will modify part of the game engine, either by adding new functionality or modifying already existing functionality.

Guest Anonymous Poster
I'd probably just write my own engine and use that...

btw... '3d engine' is kinda vague
do they mean, graphics, or physics, or... Quake Mods?