Sign in to follow this  
SavyCat

[.net] Help with mesh.intersect function

Hello there This is my first post on these forums, and I hope I don't sound too noobish. I am a student in my first year, and I am writing a simple game engine in managed Direct X and c#. I have run into a glitch which I cant figure out and don't know who to turn to. The books out there for MDX are not all that informative (at leaste the ones I have read). Thanks in advance. Ok here is my problem: Im trying to select meshes with my mouse, but they are not getting selected. In my main game loop, I cycle through each object in the world and update its matrices, render it, and do a few other activities. For simplicity's sake i created a simple directX box, which Im rendering with the drawsubset function. Back in main: once the box is rendered and transformed I call a function in my Ray class which hopefully should have returned a bool value for if an intersection occured. Basically Im trying to select an object with the mouse. here is the call: *edited to pseudocode* foreach ( Entity en in world ) { drawEntity(); if (mouseButtonClicked) { //Check if there is a selection with entity Ray.pick( camera, device, en ); } } Here is the the Ray.Pick function:
public bool Pick( Camera myCamera, Device myDevice, DinoEntity entity )
        {
            Point mouseLoc = DinoInput.MouseInputCamera.screenPoints;
            bool pickFound = false;
            IntersectInformation intInf;

Vector3 rayStart, rayDirection;
            Matrix proj = myCamera.Projection;

Vector3 v;
            v.X = ( ( ( 2.0f * mouseLoc.X ) / myDevice.PresentationParameters.BackBufferWidth ) - 1 ) / proj.M11;
            v.Y = -( ( ( 2.0f * mouseLoc.Y ) / myDevice.PresentationParameters.BackBufferHeight ) - 1 ) / proj.M22;
            v.Z = 1.0f;

// Get the inverse of the composite view and world matrix      
            Matrix matView = myCamera.View;
            Matrix matWorld = myCamera.World;