Sign in to follow this  
Dave FF

C++ or C# for learning game programming?

Hi everybody, I'm a total newbie starting to learn about programming, and I would like to learn to write simple games for the Windows O/S. I read some of the FAQ articles for beginners and saw a lot of discussion about C/C++ as a good language for games. But there was no mention of C#. (Maybe those FAQ articles are dated.) My question: What about C# as a starting language to learn about programming and games? What are its pros and cons compared to C++? Would appreciated any comments or suggestions. Thanks. Dave

I liked C# since it allowed me to focus on the game theory stuff and less on worrying about the actual code. The biggest con when i started a couple years ago was the lack of books but now there are plenty and some good websites that focus on managed code too. Managed DirectX 9 Quick Start by Tom Miller was my favourite.

C# is more abstract, and thus will be easier to learn with. While the industry is CURRENTLY using C++, there is no reason to worry. After you get the hang of C# you can always go and learn C++ as well.

C# is a much cleaner and more intuitively consistent language than C++. While C++ has a long and (sort of) venerable history, it also has a lot of historical warts and leftovers of design concerns that have long since stopped making sense. C++ is a minefield of obscure syntax rules, weird magic, and a strong dose of arbitrary quirkiness. It isn't an easy language to master, and in many cases, just trying to get something simple done in C++ can be a lot more complex than it seems like it should be.

By contrast, C# is intended to promote quick development. This is done in two ways: by giving you a huge amount of prefab code to work with (the .Net framework, which is absolutely excellent), and by removing a lot of mundane little details about how your program works so that you can quit worrying about technical issues and focus on getting things done.