Sign in to follow this  
apocalypse_k40

Urgent help needed - Direct3D problem !!!

I am just a beginner in directX programming so I began trying some tutorials... But when I wrote just my first example and run I get a strange FileNotFoundException... Here is the snippet where I got the error : static void Main() { using ( Form1 form = new Form1() ) { if ( !form.InitializeGraphics() ) //-----> FileNotFoundException { MessageBox.Show( "Unable to initialize DirectX." ); form.Dispose(); return; } Application.Idle += new EventHandler( form.OnApplicationIdle ); Application.Run( form ); } } and the InitializeGraphics() method is an method of partial class Form1: ... ... public bool InitializeGraphics() { PresentParameters pp = new PresentParameters(); pp.SwapEffect = SwapEffect.Discard; try { m_device = new Device(0, DeviceType.Hardware, this.Handle, CreateFlags.SoftwareVertexProcessing, pp); return true; } catch (DirectXException) { return false; } } ... ... The exact exception detail is : System.IO.FileNotFoundException was unhandled Message="The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)" Source="DX3D_init" StackTrace: at DX3D_init.Form1.InitializeGraphics() at DX3D_init.Program.Main() in C:\DirectxWork\DX3D_init\DX3D_init\Program.cs:line 17 at System.AppDomain.nExecuteAssembly(Assembly assembly, String[] args) at System.AppDomain.ExecuteAssembly(String assemblyFile, Evidence assemblySecurity, String[] args) at Microsoft.VisualStudio.HostingProcess.HostProc.RunUsersAssembly() at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart_Context(Object state) at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state) at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart() So as I said I am just a beginner google doesn't help too :S ... Please help me ! What is the problem ? Thnx...

I don't know about MDX or whatever that is, but don't you need to create a D3D interface before you create the D3D Device?