• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
adam_p

[MDX] Direct X 9 Stencils

This topic is 4437 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, I’m rather new to direct X programming. I have a texture, 32x32 of a solid color, say red. I have another texture, 32x32 of a solid color say blue. I then render two triangles formed as a “Quad?” square that covers a large portion of the screen. I do this by setting the U and V modes to Wrap so my 32x32 blue texture covers the entire quad by tiling. Next I create another square the same way, but this one is smaller and centered one top of and in the middle of the larger blue quad. My Goal and the purpose of this question. How would I go about dissolving the smaller red quad so as it dissolves I can see the blue quad beneath it? I’m not so much interested in fading from red to blue and I don’t want to place more triangles over the red to make it appear as if the red is dissolving. So does that leave me with stencils? Currently I think it does, but I’m not 100% sure. I’m looking for a managed Direct X 9 example (c# or vb) that will help me understand how to do something like this. I have found a few examples that show how to create shadows with stencil buffers but I’m having trouble getting just the stencil part out plus it’s in C++ and not managed, which don’t make it impossible to wade through but does make it harder, for me. Thanks for any ideas or pointers to the right spot for this info! [Edited by - adam_p on March 29, 2006 3:37:08 PM]

Advertisement
Hi Thanks for the ideas, using one of the examples I was able to come up with the code below, however it does not work right just yet.

Also I wanted to post this screen of an example of what I'm trying to do, a picture is worth a thousand words right :)

A is my current drawing, I put the black lines in to show my triangles.