• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Smit

Memory Management

This topic is 4587 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've never written a memory manager before and was wanting to give it a go but I don't know where to start. I had a few questions I was thinking about so I thought I'd post them here to get a better idea of things. 1. What type of memeory management is better for graphics/games applications? 2. I've seen the "heapsize" option in the Doom Engine, what technique does this use? 3. I've seen things like Smart Pointers etc. Are these part of a memory manager system? 4. I looked around for some articles but I couldn't really find any apart from superpigs engine articles (I've forgotten the name of them :/). Anyone have any interesting links on the subject? Thanks!

Advertisement
1. There's no right answer for everything. Sometimes certain approaches make more sense than others. Most non-trivial programs use more than one memory management model; it is not uncommon to have garbage collected languages implement high-level logic (like AI, game rules, etc.), for instance. Pooling is also very common.

2. No idea, sorry.

3. No. Smart pointers are a different concept entirely. Check out this article for a good overview of what they are for. Something that does have connections with memory management is STL allocators.

You should probably start with what exactly you mean by memory manager.

Assuming you mean the typical definition of a custom malloc/new/free/delete if you can tell us why you think you need one at all instead of just using the built in one then we could give you better advise.

Does anyone have any interesting links about doing this in C++? Everything I find on google is talking about normal new/delete or pascal :/

Hey bud,