• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Cadmus

How do I practice with C++

This topic is 4439 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm still relatively new to game programming, but since everything is based off of C/C++, I was wanting to do some practice while I'm still in school (something outside of the books and school assignments). I was wondering what would be a good way to go about accomplishing this task. I would like to create my own programs, but I just don't know how to start or what to create for practice. Any suggestions would be great, and I appreciate your time for looking into this for me and possibly many others who are struggling with this.

Advertisement
Simple programs are the best way to go. Don't get worried about using every detail of OOP all in the same program or having at a certain number of functions or variables. Just limit yourself for now. Make small consoles programs and stay away from trying graphics at the moment. Once you have console programs down you can check out a graphics API down the road.

I would suggest doing the first program that mostly every programmer does which is hello world and then go from there. If you want to get into games make a guess the number or letter game. Then move from there and start working on a text adventure. Just remember to let everything sink in and you will get the hang of it. Good luck!

Well how much experience do you have? (API?) The best way to practice would be to make some sort of program, naturally.

If you need experience with something think of a program you could write that is based on whatever you need experience with.