• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Patriot Coder

Where do I start?

This topic is 4523 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm new to gamedev(just joined this morning), and I was wondering now that I know C++, where I should go next. When ever I search, I find tons of tuts on how to do things like set up windows and blit bitmaps, but nothing that shows me how it applies to games development. I know a little SDL, and I don't want to do win32(cause it takes to much time that I could spend on design and programming the actual game mechanics). So here are the Questions: 1. Is SDL the way to go(It seems simple.)? 2. Does DevC++ work as well as commercial compilers(I hear it's actually better!)? 3.Using DevC++ and SDL(or better alternatives that work with OpenGL), can someone provide a complete path to making my first graphical games(say, Tetris and Pong)? 4. Are there any good web pages on designing programs(technical, not games theory I.E. Whether to implement something as an array or linked list)? I do realize I need to start small, and my eventual goal is to Program OpenGL in 3d(crossplatform). I know I'm asking a lot, so thank you in advance, and I will rate you up if you help me get where I'm going. Thx!

Advertisement
Welcome to Gamedev.net! Glad to have you as a member!

If you want Simplicity, definitely go with SDL and DevC++. I know these tools have saved me valuable dev time, and let me concentrate on the actual game implementation. As for a complete path, I'm trying to build one in this thread. Any help is appreciated(rate ups are involved ;).

As for program design, I'm looking for some good pages myself. Hope this helped you!

Well here is how i started and i am far from where i want to be:)

I learned C/C++ and a few other languages in University
then i started by: