• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
BeanDog

Inheriting from std::string::iterator (source included)

This topic is 4583 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well, I was a little frustrated with not having a case-insensitive find() in std::string, and I didn't want to go so far as to construct a regular expression to find a case-insensitive substring. I wanted to use the existing standard library functions to do the job, so I figured the best way was to inherit from a standard iterator. I've never done any STL-compatible coding before, so I'd like some feedback on my ucase_iterator:
class ucase_iterator : public string::iterator
{
public:
	ucase_iterator(pointer ptr) : string::iterator(ptr)
	{
	}

char operator*() const
	{
		return (make_ucase(**(const_iterator *)this));
	}

char m_cTemp;

const char* operator->() const
	{
		(char)m_cTemp = **(ucase_iterator*)this;
		return (&m_cTemp);
	}

static char make_ucase(char c)
	{
		if(c >= 'a' && c <= 'z')
			return(c + ('A'-'a'));
		else
			return(c);
	}
};