Sign in to follow this  
skysam

Add 3D model to a game

Hi all, I am new to programming and i'm trying to just import or i'll say add a 3D model to show in my game. I do not have to anything special with it. I just want it to show on the screen. Please can anyone help me with this. Cheers sam

You need to give WAY more info than that. For instance:

• What programming language?

• Have you gotten as far as any form of graphics programming? Can you display things like rotating triangles and the like?

• OpenGL or DirectX? Or is it something like Allegro/SDL/whatever?

• Is the model textured at all?

• Is there to be any lighting in the scene with your model?

• What format is the model stored in?

If you can't answer these, there's not a lot anyone can do to help you, and depending on the answers you give, you may be sent back to learn a bit more (since you claim to be new to programming).

-Auron

Ah, the alure of 3D graphics...

A lot depends on what language you're programming in, but I'll assume you're programming in a common language like C, C++, or Java.

Are you familiar with any APIs that are capable of rendering 3D geometry to the screen (OpenGL, DirectX, ect?). If not, I'd recommend that you find one, and get to know it. NeHe, of course, has some great tutorials on OpenGL.

In any case, there are 2 basic steps you must complete before getting a model into your game:

1. Read the model data from a stream or file - I suggest you read up on some common formats, such as .obj, .3ds, and .x

2. Display the model - This is really quite simple once you understand your rendering API.

Of course, each step has its prerequisites. To learn an API, for instance, you need to be pretty familiar with the language you are programming in.

If you don't want to deal with the nitty-gritty file parsing and display setup and whatnot, there are several high-level libraries that can make your life easier, such as SDL and 3DSLib.