Is Python a good place to start?

Started by
18 comments, last by Fruny 18 years ago
Basically, I have basic knowledge of C++, C#, PHP, OOP techniques (quite good, actually), but my problem is I haven't really done anything in any of those languages and have only basic (well, I know all the bits but not in detail, so I know loops, structs and stuff like that but can't really use them well) knowledge. Then I have dumped programming altogether. Now I wanna "come back" and all of a sudden Python looks like an amazing language (a year ago I hated it). Now the main question: is Python a good way to "start"? I'm not really talking about game programming alone, but general programming. It seems really well-structured, has a lot of good stuff about it and supports a lot of stuff like GTK and SDL. Besides, it's the result that matters to the end-user, not the programming itself. So is Python a good language? OR should I continue to dig into C++, C# or whatever else? Mind you, I can't say I have any particular problems with any of thos languages, I just didn't dig enough, I guess. Thanks!
Advertisement
If you like Python, then use Python. It's a perfectly good language for many things. Though if you need high performance you'll want to look elsewhere.
Python is a great place to start. If it's not already built-in, there's an installable python module for just about anything and everything you'll ever want to do. Plus it's just a great language.
Quote:Original post by Monder
If you like Python, then use Python. It's a perfectly good language for many things. Though if you need high performance you'll want to look elsewhere.

Yes, python is slow. But it is extendable with C and C++. Look into swig and boost::python.

If you're running on X86, you should also look at psyco, a specializing JIT compiler for Python.

Several other things to consider: