Sign in to follow this  
darthstrife

C Programming and Visual Studio 2005 Questions

I'm new to programming and from researching on this site, I came to the conclusion that learning the C language is the best way to get started. So, I picked up "The C Programming Language" by Kernighan and Ritchie and Visual Studio 2005 Standard Edition to begin the quest towards being a game programmer. Now, reading through the book I came to my "Hello, World" program. How do I get this to compile in VS 2005? When I debug the program as typed in the book I get an error. When I release the project and try to run it, the prompt comes up and quickly disappears. How do I make a C project in VS 2005? How do I get this program to run and the prompt to stay where I can see it? Thanks in advance.

There is a setting within your project settings to switch from Compile as C++ (which is default), to Compile as C.

What error does you get and how does your code look? (just post all the code here)

Visual Studio is horrible for a beginner. I can't get it to compile things and I've been using it for a few months now. At least it's nice for writing code.

Anyway, you're either not typing the code right or the compiler just doesn't want to work. Maybe you're using a C++ file?

Make sure your code looks like this:

#include <stdio.h>

main()
{
printf("Hello, world\n");
return 0;
}

Guest Anonymous Poster
From Visual Studio, Ctrl + F5.

Guest Anonymous Poster
Any way to do this outside of Visual Studio? For people to look at the program that are not programmers?

1.) You should not have to switch to "Compile as C" in order to get no errors. C is a subset of C++, so any legal C code will run fine through a C++ compiler (a good one at least, and the one included with Visual Studio is pretty good).