Maximising Score Algorithm

Started by
14 comments, last by Timkin 18 years ago
Hello everyone! I'm having some trouble working out how to create an auto solver algorithm for my game and was hoping someone here could help me out or point me in a direction where I could find help. As I'm only starting out with game programming my game is simple and rather boring: there are a number of blocks on a 16x10, to get points you click on a set of two or more similarily coloured blocks, the score for which is the amount of blocks you just clicked on, squared (ie. if you clicked on a group of 5 blocks you would get 25 points (5x5). Anyway I've tried making this so far with a tree structure where its branches hold moves possible from the current grid state, the problem with this being that there are up to 15 moves on some grid state so the tree rapidly becomes to big to handle, however I feel that I may be going the wrong way about this so any pointers on how to make a maximising function with a tree would be great :) Functions that I have that I know work are: getmoves(var grid:TGrid;x:integer):integer; which tries to populate a grid with x moves and returns the actual amount of moves it could put into the grid. domove(var grid:TGrid; moveoption:byte):integer; which removes all moves of number 'moveoption' from the grid and returns the score for doing this. there are a number of other functions that do things like resetting the grid but the above I think are the most important for the auto solver. Anyway sorry for the long first post, any help would be much appreciated! Thanks
Advertisement
Let me make sure that I understood this correctly. After you make a move something happens to the grid that makes the list of available moves change, right? At some point you will get stuck with no moves available, and your total score is the sum of the scores of the previous moves, right?

If all of that is correct, there are two things that I would try: