How do I transform the mouse position to 3d

Started by
2 comments, last by Chrono999 23 years, 2 months ago
I''ve been trying to figure this out on my own, and read the DX manual to figure out, but I just can''t get it to work. You see, I''m trying to transform a mouse click into 3d space. It''s purpose is to select tiles for a map editor. The view is from above, but not totally from the top. I just can''t figure it out and if anyone has some example code please show me. Thanks a lot anyone who helps, it''ll help me make a killer game
Advertisement
I am no DX expert, but I have programmed an application that gets the 2d (x,y) coordinates of a mouse and then transforms them into 3d space using a formula:

mouse_3d_x=distance*(mouse_x/(distance*mouse_z))+SCREEN_WIDTH;
mouse_3d_y=distance*(mouse_y/(distance*mouse_z))+SCREEN_HEIGHT;

the distance variable is the veiwing distance which is using at 256 for some reason. There are other 3d to 2d transformation formulas and all u have to do is check them out.

But you must convert those mouse_x and mouse_y positions into 3d
first before you can do anything.

This is how I did it when I made my application:

1. Get the 2d coordinates of the mouse x,y
2. Transform to a 3d space

if (xif (x>=SCREEN_WIDTH) mouse_x= x-(SCREEN_WIDTH/2);
if (yif (y>=SCREEN_HEIGHT) mouse_y= y-(SCREEN_HEIGHT/2);

The above should now have variables mouse_x, mouse_y in the range of (-SCREEN_WIDTH,-SCREEN_HEIGHT) to(SCREEN_WIDTH,SCREEN_HEIGHT)

3. mouse_z should be set to a value of the z axis try 0 for a
default value.

4. When you want manipulate, say, a vertex and you know the z
value is at maybe -100, change the z value of mouse_z to -100
5. Use the above formula:

mouse_3d_x=distance*(mouse_x/(distance*mouse_z))+SCREEN_WIDTH;
mouse_3d_y=distance*(mouse_y/(distance*mouse_z))+SCREEN_HEIGHT;

to find your 2d coords of where your mouse cursor should be place.

6. When you change the Z value in mouse_z to maybe -100 and try