Sign in to follow this  
DarkMark

[.net] My game works on no computer

DarkMark    122
Hi @all, I'm pretty new to game programming and just finished my first project with C# and DirectX. Now I have the problem that it runs on no computer but on mine. First it didn't find the .dlls, fine, I created a 'setup and deployment' project and had VS add all dependencies. But now the directx.direct3d.dll throws a NullReferenceException on any other computer but on mine. I have really no idea what the problem could be, and this error message doesn't help me at all since it does not tell where the error occurs. my configuration: VS.NET 2003, directx sdk dec. 2005, DirectX 9.0c Any idea what the problem could be or a where I can start searching?

Mykre    405

You also need to make sure that the client machines are running the same version of directX as the one that the application was developed in. By version I do not mean the normal 9c, each time the DirectX SDK has been released there have been updates to the managed directX system. With these updates the versions on the assemblies change, to help with this MS releases a new runtime with each SDK Release. You need to make sure that the clients are using this runtime.

On another note MS has now released a WEB Installer that will install the latest as well as previous versions of the managed assemblies, you could configure you setup project to run this each install, or package up the new runtimes.

Rob Loach    1504
If you debug the application and look at the Message and the InnerException of the NullReferenceException, it might lead you to what the problem is.
Quote:
Original post by BradSnobar
.net 2003 runs the 1.1 framework.
Make sure that you have that framework and not the 2.0 framework installed too.