Sign in to follow this  
Knepig

Loading/storing static objects

Hi. Im trying to make a simple but efficient 3d-engine mostly for fun and i've got some questions :). I'm fairly new to game-programming and directx so some of these questions might be stupid but here we go... Q1: I would like to read static objects from one or more files and then create a octree to store them. I got the tree-structure working pretty well but i cant decide how i should store the objects in it. My first attempt was placing each mesh-object in the correct leaf-node but im not sure that's really a good idea. If i make a large scene and export it to an .x file it places the whole scene in one leaf-object and that isn't very clever. Secont attempt: Reading the filess manually and storing all vertices in the same vertexbuffer and place the indices for every face in a leaf-object. This seems to be working alot better than my first attempt. Now i've been thinking about maybe creating a mesh-object for each leaf-node. This way i could use the simplification-function to create low-poly versions of the leaf-nodes. I'm not sure if this would be efficient at all though. How would you guys do this? Q2: If i have two faces that use the same vertex but with different texture-coordinates, do i have to make 2 vertices in the vertexbuffer or is there a way to specify 2 different coordinates for the same vertex? It kinda ruins the point of having a indexbuffer if each index points to different vertices doesn't it? Thanx in advance // Knepig

Q1: Placing the meshes in the leav nodes is the correct way to do things. If you have a large object (like a map or room or something), you should consider splitting it into several smaller meshes.

Q2: Nope, you need to duplicate the vertices unfortunately. That's the standard way of doing it.

Quote:
Original post by Knepig
Q2: