• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Super Sheep

launching app with DirectPlay

This topic is 4419 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there. I was working in a project without directplay API, a program that launchs a game at a certain time. Just like MSN Mensager does(you can start a game GUID registered without the need to set configurations like the host's IP). But that games aren't launched by command-line(as far as I know), but somehow the parametters are passed. I'm a newbie at DX, all I wanna do is to call the game and order it to host or to connect to a IP. Someone please tell me how, or show me examples. I defined the GUID to be called and initializated the DX thing, but nothing. All that tutorials arroud act as if the programmer couldn't call the game from the outside, with separed executables. But msn, all seeing eye, gamespy, xfire and kali does that all the time... how?... Thanks. And sory for my bad english.

Advertisement
If you're trying to run external programs and you're using windows(which I take it you are with DirectPlay) then you could try ShellExecute. However the programs you're calling MUST allow you to pass arguments through the command line(in the case of ShellExecute, that's lpParameters).

Quote:
Original post by Scet
If you're trying to run external programs and you're using windows(which I take it you are with DirectPlay) then you could try ShellExecute. However the programs you're calling MUST allow you to pass arguments through the command line(in the case of ShellExecute, that's lpParameters).

But I dunno what's the parameter. I wonder if someone from this directx forum knows it. It may be a padronized DIRECTPLAY parameter, if it's passed that way, becouse if you get an old msn version it'll still see the most modern games and launch them without trouble...