• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
As-12

Inversing Matrices

This topic is 4422 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am studying about linear algebra , Inversing matrix and I dont understand it at all. The book said about Jordan's medthod to inversing but I dont get it. And To det matrices det[ a b ] [ c d ] = a*d - b*c right? If in 3 dimensions ? How we will det it? Sry but its pretty hard to me bcoz Im only in grade 8.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by As-12
I am studying about linear algebra , Inversing matrix and I dont understand it at all. The book said about Jordan's medthod to inversing but I dont get it.
And To det matrices
det[ a b ]
[ c d ] = a*d - b*c right?
If in 3 dimensions ? How we will det it?
Sry but its pretty hard to me bcoz Im only in grade 8.
Matrix inversion is actually a pretty difficult topic, so don't expect to understand it all at once (I don't claim to understand it myself, for that matter). Just take your time with it - you're only in 8th grade, so you've got plenty of it :-)

Matrix inversion is closely related to systems of linear equations, so that's where you'll want to start. Here's a simple system of 2 equations in 2 unknowns:
ax+by = e
cx+dy = f
There are various ways to go about solving such a system. One way is to start by solving for y in terms of x:
y = (f-cx)/d
Plug this into the first equation to get one equation in one unknown:
ax+b(f-cx)/d = e
Do some algebra to solve for x:
x = (de-bf)/(ad-bc)
Plug x into the equation for y and solve:
y = (-ce+af)/(ad-bc)
The solutions are then:
x = ( de-bf)/(ad-bc)
y = (-ce+af)/(ad-bc)
I'm not going to write it all out here, but if you express the system and its solution in matrix form, you'll begin to see the motivation for matrix inversion; the original coefficient matrix is:
[a b]
[c d]
While the inverse is:
[  d(ad-bc) -b(ad-bc) ]