• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Place a mesh over a terrain mesh

This topic is 4323 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First of all sorry for my bad English, I'm Italian. I'm a very beginner with Directx. I try to make a very simple game engine. I try to do this with managed DirectX I have a mesh that represent a terrain and a mesh that represent a person. The mesh of the person can rotate and move in the space but I want that this mesh follow the terrain height. To do this I hope that the simple way was to use the Intersect method of the Mesh object (terrain) and use the Dist property to adjust the Y position of the person mesh, but I'm not able to make this work. Is this really the better way ? My terrain mesh have the follow world transformation :
_worldMatrix = Matrix.Scaling(_scale, _scale, _scale);
_worldMatrix *= Matrix.Translation(-_position);
_device.Transform.World = _worldMatrix;

where _scale = 1.0f; and _position = new Vector3(0.0f, -4570.0f, 0.0f); My person mesh (load from tiny.x) have this world transformation :
_worldMatrix = Matrix.Scaling(_scale, _scale, _scale);
_worldMatrix *= Matrix.RotationY( -m_fFacing );
_worldMatrix *= Matrix.Translation(-_position);
_device.Transform.World = _worldMatrix;

where _scale = 0.005f; and initial m_fFacing = 0.0f; and initial _position = new Vector3(0.0f, -20.0f, 0.0f); Ok, now reading some sample on the forum I create the method to calculate the distance from my person mesh and the terrain mesh :
float retVal = 0.0f;
IntersectInformation intersectInfo = new IntersectInformation();

//Get the inverted world matrix of the terrain mesh
Matrix terrainWorldInverted = Matrix.Invert(_terrain.WorldMatrix);
//Generate a new matrix
Matrix ray = _person.WorldMatrix * terrainWorldInverted;
//Set the origin of the ray