• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
steeg

STL map problem

This topic is 4562 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm a newbie using STL, and have been trying to setup a map for resource management within my game, but keep getting a linkage problem. Here is the code for the header file:
#ifndef RESMANAGER_H
#define RESMANAGER_H
#include <map>
#include <string>
#include "SDL.h"

class CResManager {
public:
	static CResManager* get() {
		return &instance;
	}
protected:
	CResManager(void);
	virtual ~CResManager(void);
private:
	static CResManager instance;
	std::map<std::string, SDL_Surface*> images;
};
#endif

I thought it had something to do with the fact that I was storing pointers, but even a simpl std::map<std:string, std:string> gives an error. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Advertisement
I bet the linker is complaining about the static instance; "unresolved external" or some such.

steeg, your static CResManager instance; is only a declaration, you still need to add CResManager CResManager::instance; to some CPP file to define the variable.

Quote:
Original post by Fruny
I bet the linker is complaining about the static instance; "unresolved external" or some such.

steeg, your static CResManager instance; is only a declaration, you still need to add CResManager CResManager::instance; to some CPP file to define the variable.

yes, I have that on my .cpp file, which is just blank right now:

#include "ResManager.h"

CResManager CResManager::instance;

CResManager::CResManager(void) {
}

CResManager::~CResManager(void) {
}

and the error I am getting (say when I use std::map<std:string, std:string> is:

ResManager.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp___CrtDbgReportW referenced in function "public: bool __thiscall std::_Tree (and it goes on for lines and lines...)

Quote:
Original post by steeg