• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
GSS

OpenGL Performance Issue

This topic is 4443 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm new to OpenGL, and right now I'm having trouble getting a smooth framerate/picture in some simple code :( Here is the code; I'm looking for ways to improve performance, and any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks note: I'm using targa images for textures, would that have any effects? void Building::draw() { glPushMatrix(); glTranslated(xpos, 0, zpos); glBegin(GL_QUADS); // draw top w/o texture glNormal3f(0.0f, -1.0f, 0.0f); glVertex3d(0, height, 0); glVertex3d(width, height, 0); glVertex3d(width, height, length); glVertex3d(0, height, length); glEnd(); glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D); glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, teximage->GetWidth(), teximage->GetHeight(), 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, teximage->GetImage()); glBegin(GL_QUAD_STRIP); glNormal3f(0.0f, 0.0f, -1.0f); glTexCoord2f(2.0, 0.0); glVertex3d(0, 0, 0); glTexCoord2f(0.0, 0.0); glVertex3d(0, height, 0); glTexCoord2f(2.0, 2.0); glVertex3d(width, 0, 0); glTexCoord2f(0.0, 2.0); glVertex3d(width, height, 0); glNormal3f(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f); glTexCoord2f(2.0, 0.0); glVertex3d(width, 0, length); glTexCoord2f(0.0, 0.0); glVertex3d(width, height, length); glNormal3f(0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f); glTexCoord2f(2.0, 2.0); glVertex3d(0, 0, length); glTexCoord2f(0.0, 2.0); glVertex3d(0, height, length); glNormal3f(-1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f); glTexCoord2f(2.0, 0.0); glVertex3d(0, 0, 0); glTexCoord2f(0.0, 0.0); glVertex3d(0, height, 0); glEnd(); glDisable(GL_TEXTURE_2D); glPopMatrix(); } void CGfxOpenGL::Render() { // Clear screen glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT | GL_STENCIL_BUFFER_BIT); // Load Identity Matrix glLoadIdentity(); // Make sure that closer objects get drawn last glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST); //gluLookAt(25.0, 15.0, 50.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0