Sign in to follow this  

Gamemaker or C?

This topic is 4249 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm extremely new to game making. I know nothing of codes. But, I do have an outdated book called how to make games in c. I was in the process of piecing together a tutorial from use in gamemaker, however my version of gamemaker is unregistered and apparently won't let me write scripts. I've no desire to pay for a programme I may or may not use, so, I weighed my options and moved on. I have installed Dev C++. I hear that C++ is THE language of game making. And I also hear you can write C code in C++. I'm guessing I can begin learning to make code with this free programme. Is that wise? And whatis OpenGL? Should I invest my time with it? I hear it's THE thing for game making. And can anyone lend advise to a heathen?

game maker is crap i personally hate it and as a newvbie programmer myself, c++ is hard and challenging but you can make much better games from it but it takes time. Open GL is an api used to create the graphics for the game and is the linux distro version to microsoft's directx. if you have time use c++ if not then use gamemaker but your games are going to look like crap as the graphics are not that good. I personally dont like it bvut i do have it and you need a knowledge of sprites to use gm

Quote:
Original post by kingsrookie
game maker is crap i personally hate it and as a newvbie programmer myself,

Yes you're true kingsrookie but it's nice to design game prototypes if you don't want to spend a lot of time and get an idea of what you want..
of course for a more reliable and sustainable project should C++ programming considered

Quote:
Original post by onan
And I also hear you can write C code in C++. I'm guessing I can begin learning to make code with this free programme. Is that wise?