Sign in to follow this  

So what am I doing wrong?

This topic is 4243 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So, I'm a newbie and I picked myself up a book on C++, and downloaded Dev-C++. I'm currently working on the "Hello World" basic program in the first chapter of the book. The source code is: #include <iostream.h> int main() { cout << "Hello World!\n"; return 0; } I can't seem to get it to run without errors. Am I compiling wrong, or do I just suck at life? Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

Quote:
Original post by ItsNotATumaaa
So, I'm a newbie and I picked myself up a book on C++, and downloaded Dev-C++. I'm currently working on the "Hello World" basic program in the first chapter of the book. The source code is:

#include <iostream.h>

int main()
{

cout << "Hello World!\n";
return 0;
}

I can't seem to get it to run without errors. Am I compiling wrong, or do I just suck at life? Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

Umm... May I ask which book? I don't want to sound harsh but any book that teaches the first program to you wrong should be thrown out. Literally.

I suggest you try Beginning C++ Game Programming.

Now, to correct it:

#include <iostream.h>
// No '.h', any good book should teach that the [current]
// standard library does not have an extension on the files.

int main() { // Ok.
std::cout << "Hello!\n";
// Cout resides in the std namespace. You'll learn that later on, but remember this:
// either have 'std::' in front of everything from the std, or on the top of the
// file put "using namespace std;'.
return 0; // Ok.
} // Ok.

#ifndef _BACKWARD_BACKWARD_WARNING_H
#define _BACKWARD_BACKWARD_WARNING_H 1

#ifdef __DEPRECATED