Sign in to follow this  

complete begginer! not a clue about any thing!

This topic is 4241 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am completely new to programming and i am finding it hard to get the answears to the following things! 1) Can I write C++ in notepad or wordpad?? 2) Which free compiler is good for C++? 3) Is there any sites that explain C++ in fine detail? (if so what are they?) 4) Is there anything else i need to know before i start?

I would suggest you do your coding in an IDE (Intergated Development Enviroment). It will help you a lot. It will color syntax your code, help you find errors and give some help documentation.

theTroll

Quote:
Original post by davidoSolight
3) Is there any sites that explain C++ in fine detail? (if so what are they?)

Agree with everything above, although if you are planning to learn C++ in-depth you will probably want to invest in a book on the subject (do an amazon.com search for some good choices).

thanks for all the replies guys, ive downloaded visual C++ (think its a 30 day trial though!) still finding it hard to learn the code though! for example i found a tutorial that begins from the basics heres the bit ive done so far:

/* my first program in C++
with more comment */

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
cout << "My first program" ; // displays "my first program"
cout << "i am a C++ program" ; // displays "i am a C++ program"
return 0;
}

Now what i want to know is do u have to type '#include <iostream>' at th start of all your 'projects'? it explains why its put in there but i mean give it to me in English please!lol the line below it also means nothing to me! did the rest of you guys find it this hard to begin writing aswell??

remember i am a total begginer and i just want to learn some of this dam code before i goto university next year!!