Sign in to follow this  
YellowMaple

meshes quads or triangles?

Hello, I'm still somewhat new to the world of 3d graphics and from many of the resources I've read, it suggests to model meshes with triangle polygons since most API's will convert quads and such to triangles anyways. However, my artist friend tells me its much easier to model using quads and some of the meshes I've seen are build from quads. Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of each and what the industry standard is? Also, would anyone know where I could find a polygon count and perhaps any other model info for character models for any modern commercial games (e.g. half-life 2, doom 3, world of warcraft... anything 3d) Thanks!

I'm not terribly experienced, but I believe high poly work is usually done with quads to have subdivision work properly. For games and such, every triangle matters.

Guest Anonymous Poster
EVERYTHING is rendered as triangles in realtime engines. Graphics cards only render triangles. Quads are rendered as two triangles like so:

| /|
| / |
| / |

a quad, made of two triangles.

If your friend was to export his mesh in a realtime-rendering friendly format, all of his quads would be converted to triangles before rendering.

Everything may be exported as triangles in the end, but quad-based models look best and are easier to work with. Shading is a lot smoother and you get less jitter along the contours, for example when you rotate the model in realtime. Also, when skinning a triangular model you get unpredictable skin behaviour because the vertices are randomly aligned. This is also the problem when editing; edge- and vertex operations are harder to do and give unpleasing results. These problems get bigger as the polycount drops.