Sign in to follow this  

Cubic Splines

This topic is 4237 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

A long time ago I found a great site that had a C++ function for cubic splines, that took four coords as points and a ratio of 0 to 1 that determined at which point along the spline it returned. Does anyone know where I can find this or anything similar? Any good tutorials on the net for splines that are explained in code instead of maths?(I'm a much better coder than I am mathematician :) ) Or has anyone wrote a 4 point cubic spline function they don't mind sharing?

Is a cubic spline the same as a cubic Bézier curve? In which case it's just three parametric equations determined by the control points and the code should be trivial.

*Googles subject*

Okay, so it seems not. Cubic splines go through all of their points, right? This document shows how to transform such a spline into a normal Bezier curve, and it's even in code ;) (PostScript code! Muahaha!).

Edit: Beaten. And also, why is this in Multiplayer?

Splines are used for interpolation, so it could be multiplayer. It could also be Math and Physics.

There are many kinds of cubic splines. Bezier splines are "cubic" in complexity, but don't go through all control points. Meanwhile, Hermite splines are also "cubic" but go through the points. In general, any cubic interpolation function will take the format:

output_pos = interpolate(float t, pos p0, pos p1, pos p2, pos p3);

Yes, precisely.
I've been messing about with udp streams and I've found the sweet spot
for update intervals, but really need cubic splines to smooth the movement.

H, your function prototype is exactly like the function i found before,
except it worked on one dimension (I.e you had to call it for each dimension, no biggie)